When boxes are suspended because of failed payment:
Harvie will automatically suspend all future boxes if your customer has a failed payment and also sends an automatically generated email to the member when a card fails. Customer will still receive the current box that triggered the failed payment but is told their next delivery will be withheld if card is not updated.
There are two email communications that happen:
- The FAILED PAYMENT email initially gets triggered at finalization. Customer will still receive this box but is told their next and future deliveries will be withheld if card is not update by the cut off date.
- The SUSPENDED BOX email gets triggered with the next delivery is created, if they did not update their card by the cut off time. They will receive a notice stating their box is suspended and they will not receive it unless they update payment before the cut off time.
What Can I Do as a Farm?
If you’d like to reach out to your members to see if they need any help, you can. This may help to speed up with processing their payment so they don’t miss their share for that week. Harvie support does not follow up with these members.
If they need additional help, Send them this link: How-to-Update-Payment-Information
Once the customer updates their card on file, a payment will automatically be run for all outstanding amounts. The farm does not have to do anything. The member will receive the customization email regardless of whether it is during or after the customization period, as a confirmation that their payment was successful.
NOTE: A customer has until the current customization period ends (cut off time) to update their card for that week’s delivery, NOT finalization! That is the only way the system will produce a share for them for that week. If they update their card after cut-off time, they will not be charged for the share and will not receive one.
How Do I Know Who Has Failed Payments or Suspended Boxes?
Anyone with a failed payment will show up in your “Failed Payment” report until they update their card on file and have been charged.
Anyone with a suspended box will show up as “Suspended Boxes” at the top of your Preview Boxes screen when you are setting your delivery estimate. When previewing boxes for a delivery, it’s always a good idea to check to see if there are any boxes listed as "suspended".
How to Override a Suspended Box
If you want to, you can override the suspension and still send a box to a member as long as this is done during the customization period. For example, a member contacts you and says that their card was stolen and they won't have a new card in time, they’ve made an arrangement with you to get that week’s share paid for, etc.
NOTE: The farm has until the customization period ends to override a suspension for that week’s delivery.
When you create your delivery estimate and get to that first "Preview delivery boxes" step, it will tell you if you have any pending (aka suspended) boxes at the top of the page (see attached screenshot). Right below that, you'll see the pending boxes created for these people. If you want to override the pending status, you can just click the "override" button next to that person's box and their box will be moved to a regular status.